Music Makes Learning About Food Safety Fun!: Food Safety Post

Our next post was written by guest blogger – Dr. Carl Winter, Department of Food Science and Technology at the University of California, Davis

Greetings FLL participants and coaches! I’m pleased to have been invited as a guest blogger.

Food safety is serious business, but that doesn’t mean learning about it can’t be fun! For the past 15 years, I’ve combined my scientific expertise as a food safety researcher and educator on the faculty of the University of California, Davis with my musical talents. This has led to the production of several dozen parodies of contemporary music that have had the lyrics altered (a la Weird Al Yankovic) to teach about food safety.

One of my favorite parodies is “Don’t Get Sicky Wit It,” a rap song modeled after Will Smith’s “Getting’ Jiggy Wit It.” This one provides some of the basic food safety information that we all need to know when we are preparing our own food such as keeping our hands washed, avoiding cross-contamination, heating foods to their proper temperatures, and refrigerating leftovers properly. Click on the link below to see a video cartoon of the song.

I’ll be posting periodically as the FLL season continues. In the meantime, if you are interested in the music, have a look at the Food Safety Music page or my YouTube page.
I hope you are all making great progress on the Food Factor Challenge!

Tagged as:

Categorised in: 2011 FOOD FACTOR, Guest Blogger

Join 11,581 other followers

